Christianlifecenter's Blog

Our church in Tabb, VA

May 7, 2012 Hunger for God’s Presence May 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — christianlifecenter @ 1:59 pm

‘As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for You, O God. ” – Psalm 42: 1

The last couple of days, I have noticed that I keep going to the refrigerator looking for what will satisfy. Finally, I realize while standing in front of it, that nothing in there will satisfy. Why? I am hungry, but NOT for food- I want more of God. I am hungry for the presence of my Father!

So- how do you increase your hunger? Well, when I talk about food it makes me hungry. Sometimes, so hungry that I have to go get whatever I am talking about. So,  the more I read the Word, the more I talk about the Lord, the more I just want to be with Him. Then, there are times that you just have to fast- whether it is from food OR from so many inputs in your daily life… from television, to radio, to something that is too close to you heart. Make room for that hunger to grow.

I want my relationship with my Father to be deeper each day. I want to know that I am spending more time in deeper levels of His presence each day.

Luke 6:21- “Blessed are you who hunger now, for you shall be filled.”- NKJV

That is a wonderful promise. If we hunger, we will be filled!

Determine that today is the day with the smallest amount of God’s presence you will every have again. Don’t try to live in the past- while what God has done for you is awesome and needs to be remembered; but don’t camp out there.

1 Corinthians 1:9 says “God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of His Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”  He has called us to fellowship with His Son! WOW!!!

You have heard people speak about others “auras” or how someone can be like a lead balloon at a party and just bring all the others in the room, either that or they will bring they lighten up the room when they walk in. So, the more you fellowship with the Lord, the more we are in His presence, the more we’ll have His joy and others will know that there is something different about us. They will want to know what it is.

“You will show me the path of life, in Your presence is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”  Psalm 16: 11

 

Leave a comment